Apartment Cologne presents: Cologne Riehl

Riehl is the 503rd district of Cologne. It is located on the left side of the Rhine in northern Cologne. The inner canal road borders on the south, the Rhine on the east, the belt railway lines of the KVB on the north, and finally the Amsterdam Road on the west. Thus, the children's hospital Amsterdamer Straße belongs to the district Riehl. The postal code of Riehl is 50735 and the country code is 0221!

District number Area Population
503 2,390.5 Square kilometre 12.000

Köln Riehl

Borders and Location

New Town North, Nippes and Niehl form the neighborhoods to the south, west and north adjacent to Riehl. In Riehl there are many parks (such as the Sculpture Park Cologne ) and green areas. They account for more than 25 percent of the Riehler total area of 2390.5 square kilometers. At the end of 2015 Riehl had about 12,000 inhabitants.

Skulpturenpark Koeln Rhiel

Skulpturenpark Koeln Rhiel

Skulpturenpark Koeln Rhiel

Skulpturenpark Koeln Rhiel

Skulpturenpark Koeln Rhiel

History

First mentioned in documents in 972, Riehl was rural until the beginning of the 20th century. The Frohnhof, a country residence of the Schilling von Rile family, which was chivalrous, represented the center of Riehl in the 13th century. It was also assumed that the monastery of Mariengarten, where the Cistercian Order had its monastery, was originally founded in Riehl, In 1357, on August 15, it was jointly decided to strike a silver coin in the castle Riehl.

The city of Cologne and Aachen, as well as the Cologne archbishop Wilhelm von Genepp and Duke Wilhelm II of Jülich were involved. Since then, the castle has been used as a mint (namely as a kurkölnische Erzbischöfliche) for coins. From 1463 to 1464 coins (quantity 146,300) were produced here in 130 types of coins. The mint stood on the banks of the Rhine on the street, which today is called "An der Münze". However, in 1464, the castle and the associated courtyards were so badly damaged by a flood that it was decided to discontinue the estate.


Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

In the wake of the Kölner Stift feud, the remaining walls were torn down by the troops of Cologne, so enemy Neusser troops were offered no opportunity to find a shelter in the city.

Furthermore, in Riehl, the risk of flooding, so the construction in the next 300 years progressed only hesitant. Lebracranke were housed in a farmhouse and several farms were built. In 1784 and 1788 Riehl was again destroyed by a strong flood . Between 1798 and 1814 Riehl was under French leadership. In January 1815, only the troops of the French withdrew and it belonged to 1886 to Prussia (mayor Longerich). Only in April 1888 was Riehl together with Nippes a municipality of Cologne.

The golden point of Cologne

From the 19th century grew on the banks of the Rhine, on the undeveloped areas in front of the city fortification, the leisure district of Kölle . These areas were now also called "the Golden Corner of Cologne" or on Kölsch "de Joldene Spetz". Sometimes up to 50,000 visitors came to the golden corner in good weather! From about 1830, the numerous dancers or their beer gardens were very popular and attracted a large number of visitors!

From 1845 to circa 1929 the old Kölner Freizeitplatz, from the year 1860 the Cologne Zoo and then from 1864 the notorious "Kölner Flora" and then from 1865 to 1919 the many summer theaters. In addition, there was also the Ballhaus, which opened its doors from 1869 to 1942 and a Panoptikum.

Zoo

Kölner Zoo

Zoo

Kölner Zoo

Zoo

Another attraction was the cycle track (opened in 1899, closed in 1955), the Rheinlust, a popular outdoor pool that was closed only in 1986 and the American amusement park "Luna Park", which was in operation from 1909 up to and including 1928.

Another highlight is the still existing botanical garden, which opened its doors in 1914 and is a popular place in Cologne.

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Koeln Rhiel

Apartment Cologne Tipp

Of course you have to have driven the cable car from Cologne once! This is an attraction in our city and you will be thrilled if you drive over the Rhine in a dizzy height! They start at the Cologne Zoo and then "land" on the other side of the Rhine directly at the Claudius Thermen. You should not miss this pleasure.


And of course the Zoological Garden , which is known beyond the city limits and is especially popular with the kids in Kölle! And if you live with us in the Apartment Cologne Center , then it's really not far to the cable car or the zoo!


Known buildings

The best-known buildings in Riehl we just want to list here briefly:

  1. Colonia Hochhaus
  2. Rhieler Heimstätten
  3. Mülheimer Brücke
  4. Zoobrücke
  5. Englische Partie and the Cologner Flora

Gastronomy and other trade

In Riehl you can enjoy it! Visit the popular Riehler weekly market and taste fresh fruit! On the "Riehler Kö" you will also find a nice cafe to relax and just to watch what's going on in this charming district. Pubs and beer gardens invite you to an evening out. And if you want to come to Cologne, then request your non-binding offer at the Apartment Cologne !

Ferienwohnung Köln

Fewo in cologne

Unterkunft Köln

Fewo Nummer 1

Fewo Nummer 2

Fewo Nummer 3

Ferienwohnung Cologne stellt vor: Köln Riehl

Riehl ist der 503. Stadtteil von Köln. Er liegt auf der linken Seite des Rheins im nördlichen Köln. Die innere Kanalstraße grenzt südlich, der Rhein östlich, die Gürtelbahntrassen der KVB nördlich und zum Schluß westlich die Amsterdamer Straße. Somit gehört das Kinderkrankenhaus Amsterdamer Straße zum Stadtteil Riehl dazu. Die Postleitzahl von Riehl lautet 50735 und die Telefonvorwahl lautet 0221!

Köln Riehl

Grenzen und Lage

Neustadt Nord, Nippes und Niehl bilden im Süden, Westen und Norden die Stadtteile, die an Riehl angrenzen. In Riehl gibt es viele Parkanlagen und Grünflächen. Sie bilden mehr als 25 Prozent der Riehler Gesamtfläche von 2390,5 km² aus. Ende 2015 hatte Riehl ca. 12.000 Einwohner.

Geschichte

Zuerst 972 in Urkunden erwähnt, war Riehl bis Anfang des. 20. Jahrhunderts ländlich ausgeprägt. Der Frohnhof, ein Landsitz der Familie Schilling von Rile, die ritterlich war, stellte im 13. Jahrhundert das Zentrum von Riehl dar. So vermutete man auch, dass das Kloster Mariengarten, in dem der Zisterzienserinnen Orden seinen Stift hat, ursprünglich in Riehl gegründet wurde.
1357, am 15. August, wurde gemeinschaftlich beschlossen, eine Silbermünze in der Burg Riehl zu schlagen.

Die Stadt Köln und Aachen, sowie der Kölner Erzbischoff Wilhelm von Genepp und Herzog Wilhelm II. von Jülich waren beteiligt. Seit dem wurde die Burg als Prägestätte (nämlich als kurkölnische erzbischöfliche) für Münzen genutzt. Hier wurden von 1463 bis 1464 Münzen (Stückzahl 146.300) in 130 Münzarten hergestellt. Die Prägestätte stand am Rheinufer auf der Straße, die heute "An der Münze" heißt. Jedoch wurde 1464 die Burg und die dazugehörigen Hofanlagen durch ein Hochwasser so stark beschädigt, dass man sich dazu entschloss, dass Prägewesen einzustellen.

Im Zuge der Kölner Stiftfehde wurden die übrigen Mauern durch die Truppen der Kölner eingerissen, sodass feindlichen Neusser Truppen keine Möglichkeit geboten wurde einen Unterschlupf zu finden in der Stadt.

Weiterhin galt in Riehl die Hochwassergefahr, sodass der Aufbau in den nächsten 300 Jahren nur zögerlich vorankam. Lebrakranke wurden in einem Sichenhaus untergebracht und mehrere Bauernhöfe wurden errichtet. 1784 und 1788 wurde Riehl erneut duch ein starkes Hochwasser zerstört. Zwischen 1798 und 1814 war Riehl unter französischer Führung. Im Januar 1815 erst zogen die Truppen der Franzosen ab und es gehörte bis 1886 zu Preußen (Bürgermeisterei Longerich). Erst im April 1888 wurde Riehl zusammen mit Nippes eine Gemeinde von Köln.

Die goldene Spitze Kölns

Ab dem 19. Jahrhundert wuchs am Rheinufer, auf den unbebauten Bereichen vor der Stadtbefestigung, das Freizeitviertel von Kölle. Man nannte diese Flächen nun auch "die Goldene Ecke von Köln" oder auch auf Kölsch "de joldene Spetz". Manchmal kamen bis zu 50.000 Besucher zur goldenen Ecke bei schönem Wetter! So circa ab dem Jahre 1830 galten die zahlreichen Lokale, in denen getanzt wurde, oder deren Biergärten als sehr beliebt und lockten wirklich eine große Vielzahl an Besuchern an!

Ab dem Jahre 1845 bis circa in das Jahre 1929 der alte Kölner Freizeitplatz, ab dem Jahre 1860 der Kölner Zoo und dann ab dem Jahre 1864 die namenhafte "Kölner Flora" und dann von 1865 bis 1919 die vielen Sommertheater. Daneben gab es dann auch das Ballhaus, welches von 1869 bis 1942 seine Türen öffnete sowie ein Panoptikum.

Eine weitere Attraktion war die Radrennbahn (eröffnet 1899, geschlossen 1955), die Rheinlust, ein beliebtes Freibad, dass erst 1986 geschlossen wurde und der amerikanische Freizeitpark "Luna Park", der von 1909 bis einschließlich 1928 in Betrieb war.

Als weiteres Highlight gilt dann noch immer der bis heute existierende Botanische Garten, der erstmals 1914 seine Pforten öffnete und eine beliebter Ort in Köln ist.

Ferienwohnung Köln Tipp

Natürlich müssen Sie die Seilbahn von Köln einmal gefahren sein! Das ist eine Attraktion in unserer Stadt und Sie werden begeistert sein, wenn Sie in schwindeliger Höhe über den Rhein fahren! Sie starten beim Kölner Zoo und "landen" dann auf der anderen Rheinseite direkt bei den Claudius Thermen. Dieses Vergnügen sollten Sie sich nicht entgehen lassen.


Und natürlich den Zoologischen Garten, welcher über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus bekannt ist und besonders beliebt ist bei den Kindern in Kölle! Und wenn Sie bei uns in der Ferienwohnung Köln Zentrum wohnen, dann ist es wirklich nicht weit hin bis zur Seilbahn oder dem Zoo!


Bekannte Bauwerke

Die bekanntesten Bauwerke in Riehl wollen wir hier nur kurz auflisten:

  1. Colonia Hochhaus
  2. Rhieler Heimstätten
  3. Mülheimer Brücke
  4. Zoobrücke
  5. Englische Partie in der Kölner Flora gelegen

Gastronomie und sonstiger Handel

In Riehl kann man sich es gutgehen lassen! Besuchen Sie einmal den beliebten Riehler Wochenmarkt und schmecken Sie frisches Obst! Auf der "Riehler Kö" finden Sie auch ein nettes Cafe zum entspannen und einfach zum zuschauen, was so alles los ist in diesem charmanten Stadtteil. Kneipen und Biergärten laden dann zum abendlichen Ausgehen ein.