The former Kölnarena

Read so far
5 min to read

I like the old name definitely better: the Kölnarena, which represents another attraction in the cathedral city. Yes, and now the name is Lanxess Arena, because the money lures! The arena is a huge multi-purpose hall, which of course is also located in our wonderful district Deutz!

LanxessArena

Incidentally, the nickname among the people of Cologne is "Henkelmännchen", which results from their form or was derived.

History

The first cut of the spade, so the construction began on 31.07.1996 . Thousands of tons of concrete, parquet and plastic flooring were used from then on. The construction costs were at incredible 153 million euros! By the way, the responsible architect was Peter Böhm. At the opening, the arena had even another (third) name! Here is the process of naming:

  • Köln-Deutz-Arena (1996)
  • Kölnarena (1996-2008)
  • Lanxess Arena (2008 since today)

Official opening of the arena was on 17.10.1998 by / with a concert by the legendary Luciano Pavarotti!

There is a lot going on here!

In the arena events and events of all kinds take place! From sporting events, music events and the Cologne Carnival to major e-sports events. Also had various clubs already their venue in the arena. Previous clubs with venues in the arena are:

  • since 1998, the Kölner Haie (DEL) play in the arena
  • the VfL Gummersbach (HBL) played there in the period 2001-2012
  • the Cologne 99ers (BBL) in the years 2001-2009
  • the Rheinstars Cologne (ProA) in the period 2015-2018

The big events

In the whole years since the opening of the arena, many celebrities athletes, musicians and other personalities have entered the arena. In addition, regularly known and popular events take place in the arena. We want to list the biggest events here:

  • Since 1999 the "Laughing Kölnarena" takes place there (carnival event)
  • Wladimir Klitschko against Axel Schulz, boxing match 1999
  • In 2001, the men's ice hockey world championships took place there
  • in 2006 the European Club Championship
  • Also in 2006, the NBA was a guest in Deutz with their Europe Live Tour 2006
  • 2007 then immediately followed the handball World Cup of men
  • and in July 2007 please again Wladimir Klitschko in the arena and against Lamon Brewster
  • In 2009, Heidi Klum entered the Lanxessarena with her top models and the final of Germanys Next Topmodell, as well as in the years 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014.
  • 2010 was then again the ice hockey world championship in the Lanxessarena
  • September 2010 there was another boxing match: Felix Sturm against Giovanni Lorenzo
  • The Final4 (EHF Champions League) keep coming back to Deutz: 2010-2018
  • Another boxing match: Vitali Klitschko against Odlanier Solis (19.03.2011)
  • And in 2011 Felix Sturm comes again and box against Matthew Macklin
  • The Video Days took place regularly since 2013
  • and the ESL One Cologne also liked the big hall (since 2013)
  • In 2017, the Ice Hockey World Cup was back in Cologne-Deutz
  • 2017: the Cologne Darts Gala
  • The most recent event in 2019 was the Handball World Cup in the arena

In addition, there are many concerts, some wrestling events and many general meetings held by various public companies there! Since Stefan Raab lives in Cologne, it is obvious that all TV Total Car Championships took place there too!




The equipment

The arena is huge and can even accommodate 20,000 people (depending on how the stage is being built). On its 83,700 square meters of usable space, it gives enough space for many gastronomic offers and is equipped with state-of-the-art technology in order to perfectly stage all of the events described above.




Sports events

We have already reported on a variety of sports clubs and sports events that are taking place in the Kölnarena. The Kölner Haie , the VfL Gummersbach and the Rheinstars Cologne filled and regularly fill the ranks here. Various World Championships also.

But the Americans have also discovered the arena as an ideal venue and even the WWE (Word Wrestling Entertainment) has been to the Lanxess Arena five times! "Passport to Pain" or "Wrestlemania" in Germany ?! No problem, thanks to the great Kölnarena! More than 40,000 visitors came to Cologne for the events!



And also the basketball is regularly thrown in the "Henkelmännchen" ! Among other things, the arena also serves the Telekom Baskets Bonn as the venue. In games against the Alba Berlin even a European record with exactly 18,506 spectators could be set up!

Even our König Fußball is entitled to the Lanxessarena, even if it works only in the context of a public viewing ... At the European Championships 2008 and at the World Cup 2010, the games of the German national football team and all games, shown from the quarterfinal! A 50 square meter screen made the common football fun possible! Over 32,000 people watched the games at this free event. It even went so far that at the semi-final match Germany against Turkey, the entrances would have to be closed, since the arena was just "full" !!!

Concerts and music events

Big names in a big Kölnarena! The first big concert was played by pop star DJ Bobo . That was in 1998. Other tours (even regularly) stop in the arena. This includes the "Night often he Proms", which usually gives two performances in December. The local artists, such as the "Black Föös" or the "Höhner" give themselves the "jack in the hand" and delight the audience. Even Metallica was already there and twice broke the attendance record for a concert. Exactly 18,446 and then topped with 18,483 spectators were there in September 2017 and rocked the arena!

Gatherings of companies

Regularly large events of large German enterprises take place there. These include:

  • Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Deutsche Post
  • Lufthansa

These are usually the shareholder meetings .

Other events

We have already mentioned that one of the greatest German entertainers lives in Cologne: our Stefan Raab. And this good man organized next to the Autoball European Championship also his glorious boxing match against Regina Halmich in the LanxessArena. Even the Bundesvision Song Contest took place there! Thanks Stefan.

During the Cologne Pride there was an event called "Color Cologne". We have already reported on the top model finals and the diverse e-sports and video events.

The old Cologne sports hall

Before the LanxessArena was launched, there was the "Cologne Sports Hall" in the cathedral city as a much smaller and with the years increasingly dilapidated venue. On 30.08.1998 there was a big farewell event and immediately we went to the new, modern "KölnArena".

The first plans for the new sports arena in Cologne even go back to the year 1988 . At that time, the major construction companies Strabag and Philipp Holzmann played a small competition, who should now get the contract. The winner was Strabag, who in August 1989 was able to win the advice of the City of Cologne and then Chief Town Director Kurt Rossa with their concept of "Europalast". For the construction, they immediately chose a 72,500 square meter area next to the Koelnmesse in Deutz. At the same time, a true financing arena started, in which some bankers and contractors came to dubious fame or the negotiations left many questions unanswered. Talks were made in hotels and real estate funds were established to facilitate the construction project. Banks were looking for personalities from the Cologne high society to finance the financing.

But then Lothar Ruschmeier took over the task of Kurt Rossa and this could convince the SPD faction not to build the European Palace, but the much smaller project of Philipp Holzmann.

Another scandal

Why did the city of Cologne sell the building plot for the arena for a mere DM 37 million to the executing property fund, even though the property should have had a value of 83 million marks ?! Well, we are in Cologne!

Sold

In December 2015, it was announced that Hong Kong-based "Junson Capital Company Limited" had acquired the complex.

Problems with the acoustics

Due to the special (not to say exceptional) appearance of the arena, there are often problems with the acoustics at concerts. The architectural feature for problems during the soundcheck in an empty hall as a contrast to the then just full hall. The sound engineers are not to be envied! Because there are high volumes and levels, then it regularly comes to sound problems. Occurs at concerts by:

  • Prince
  • Paul Mc Cartney
  • Beyonce

Connection to the traffic

The traffic connection can sometimes be called Perfect . The Deutz train station is just a stone's throw away and also the public transport is right outside the exit. Approximately 400 away is already the A559! Directly at the arena there is a parking garage with 1750 parking spaces, another with 630 and another 300 parking spaces can be found at the Arena 2. However, you notice directly that the places with a visitor volume of tens of thousands of people can not be sufficient. That's why we strongly recommend traveling by train or public transport .

Living close to the LanxessArena ?!

You want to walk to the arena? Book your accommodation at the Apartment Cologne, then you can easily reach the LanxessArena on foot! We look forward to your inquiry! Just send us an email!

Ferienwohnung Köln

Fewo in cologne

Unterkunft Köln
Bewertung: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Die ehemalige Kölnarena

Read so far
5 min to read

Mir gefällt der alte Name definitiv besser: die Kölnarena, welche eine weitere Attraktion in der Domstadt darstellt. Ja, und nun ist der Name Lanxess Arena, denn das Geld lockt! Die Arena ist eine riesige Mehrzweckhalle, welche sich natürlich auch in unserem wunderbaren Stadtteil Deutz befindet!

LanxessArena

Der Spitzname unter den Kölnern ist übrigens "Henkelmännchen", welcher sich aus deren Form ergibt bzw. abgeleitet wurde.

Geschichte

Der erste Spatenstich, also der Baubeginn war am 31.07.1996. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt wurden tausende von Tonnen an Beton, Parkett und Kunststoffbelag verbaut. Die Baukosten lagen bei sagenhaften 153 Millionen Euro! Zuständiger Architekt war übrigens Peter Böhm. Zur Eröffnung hatte die Arena sogar noch einen weiteren (dritten) Namen! Hier kurz der Ablauf der Namesgebung:

  • Köln-Deutz-Arena (1996)
  • Kölnarena (1996-2008)
  • Lanxess Arena (2008 bis lfd.)

Offizielle Eröffnung der Arena war am 17.10.1998 durch bzw. mit einem Konzert von dem legendären Luciano Pavarotti!

Hier ist viel los!

In der Arena finden Veranstaltungen und Events aller Art statt! Vom Sportevents, über Musikveranstaltungen und den Kölner Karneval bis hin zu großen E-Sport Events. Auch hatten diverse Vereine schon ihre Spielstätte in der Arena. Bisherige Vereine mit Spielstätte in der Arena sind:

  • seit 1998 spielen die Kölner Haie (DEL) in der Arena
  • der VfL Gummersbach (HBL) spielte dort in der Zeit 2001-2012
  • die Köln 99ers (BBL) in den Jahren 2001-2009
  • die Rheinstars Köln (ProA) in der Zeit 2015-2018

Die großen Events

In den ganzen Jahren seit der Eröffnung der Arena haben schon viele Prominente Sportler, Musiker und weitere Persönlichkeiten die Arena betreten. Daneben finden regelmäßig bekannte und beliebte Veranstaltungen in der Arena statt. Wir wollen die größten Events hier kurz auflisten:

  • Seit 1999 findet dort die "Lachende Kölnarena" statt (Karnevalsveranstaltung)
  • Wladmimir Klitschko gegen Axel Schulz, Boxkampf 1999
  • 2001 fand dort die Eishockeyweltmeisterschaft der Herren statt
  • im Jahre 2006 die European Club Championship
  • auch im Jahr 2006 war die NBA zu Gast in Deutz mit Ihrer Europe Live Tour 2006
  • 2007 folgte dann sogleich die Handballweltmeisterschaft der Herren
  • und im Juli 2007 boxte erneut Wladmimir Klitschko in der Arena und zwar gegen Lamon Brewster
  • 2009 kam Heidi Klum mit Ihren Topmodels und dem Finale von Germanys Next Topmodell in die Lanxessarena, weiterhin auch in den Jahren 2010, 2011, 2012 und 2014.
  • 2010 war dann schon wieder die Eishockeyweltmeisterschaft in der Lanxessarena
  • September 2010 gab es schon wieder einen Boxkampf: Felix Sturm gegen Giovanni Lorenzo
  • die Final4 (EHF Champions League) finden immer wieder nach Deutz: 2010-2018
  • Ein weiterer Boxkampf: Vitali Klitschko gegen Odlanier Solis (19.03.2011)
  • Und 2011 kommt auch Felix Sturm wieder und boxt gegen Matthew Macklin
  • die Video Days fanden regelmäßig seit 2013 dort statt
  • und auch die ESL One Cologne hat gefallen gefunden an der großen Halle (seit 2013)
  • Im Jahre 2017 kommt erneut die Eishockeyweltmeisterschaft nach Köln-Deutz
  • 2017: die Cologne Darts Gala
  • ganz aktuell war auch in 2019 wieder die Handballweltmeisterschaft in der Arena

Daneben gibt es viele Konzerte, einige Wrestling Veranstaltungen und viele Hauptversammlungen von diversen Aktiengesellschaften dort statt! Da Stefan Raab in Köln wohnt, ist es naheliegend, dass auch alle TV Total Autoballmeisterschaften dort stattfanden!




Die Ausstattung

Die Arena ist riesig und hat sogar für 20.000 Leute Platz (je nachdem wie die Bühne gebaut wird). Auf ihren 83.700 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche, gibt sie genügend Platz für viele gastronomische Angebote und ist ausgestattet mit modernster Technik um auch alle - oben beschriebenen Events- perfekt in Szene zu setzen.




Sportveranstaltungen

Wir haben bereits über eine Vielzahl von Sportvereinen und auch Sportveranstaltungen berichtet, welche in der Kölnarena stattfinden. Die Kölner Haie, der VfL Gummersbach und die Rheinstars Köln füllten und füllen hier regelmäßig die Reihen. Diverse Weltmeisterschaften ebenfalls.

Aber auch die Amerikaner haben die Arena als idealen Austragungsort für sich entdeckt und war sogar die WWE (Wort Wrestling Entertainment) schon fünf mal in der Lanxess Arena! "Passport to Pain" oder "Wrestlemania" in Deutschland?! Kein Problem, dank der tollen Kölnarena! Zu den Veranstaltungen kamen mehr als 40.000 Besucher nach Köln!



Und auch der Basketball wird regelmäßig im "Henkelmännchen" geworfen! So dient die Arena unter anderem auch den Telekom Baskets Bonn als Austragungsort. In Spielen gegen die Alba Berlin konnte sogar ein Europa-Rekord mit genau 18.506 Zuschauern aufgestellt werden!

Sogar unser König Fußball hat einen Anspruch auf die Lanxessarena, auch wenn es nur im Rahmen eines Public Viewing klappt… Bei der Europameisterschaft 2008 und bei der Weltmeisterschaft 2010 wurden die Spiele der deutschen Fußball Nationalmannschaft und auch alle Partien, ab dem Viertelfinale gezeigt! Eine 50 Quadratmeter große Leinwand machte den gemeinsamen Fußballspaß möglich! Über 32.000 Menschen schauten sich die Spiele bei dieser kostenlosen Veranstaltung an. Es ging sogar soweit, dass beim Halbfinalspiel Deutschland gegen die Türkei die Eingänge geschlossen werden müssten, da die Arena einfach „voll war“!!!

Konzerte und Musikevents

Große Namen in einer großen Kölnarena! Daserste, große Konzert spielte der Popstar DJ Bobo. Das war im Jahre 1998. Weitere Tourneen machen (sogar regelmäßig) halt in der Arena. Dazu zählt auch die „Night oft he Proms“, welche in der Regel zwei Aufführungen im Dezember gibt. Auch die lokalen Künstler, wie zum Beispiel die „Black Föös“ oder die „Höhner“ geben sich hier die „Klinke in die Hand“ und begeistern das Publikum. Sogar Metallica war schon da und brach zwei mal den Zuschauerrekord für ein Konzert. Genau 18.446 bzw. dann getoppt mit 18.483 Zuschauer waren im September 2017 da und rockten die Arena!

Versammlungen von Firmen

Regelmäßig finden große Veranstaltungen von großen Deutschen Unternehmen dort statt. Dazu zählen:

  • Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Deutsche Post
  • Die Lufthansa

Dies sind dann meist die Aktionärsversammlungen.

Weitere Events

Wir haben schon erwähnt, dass einer der größten Deutschen Entertainer in Köln wohnt: unser Stefan Raab. Und dieser gute Mann veranstaltete neben der Autoball-Europameisterschaft auch seinen glorreichen Boxkampf gegen Regina Halmich in der LanxessArena. Sogar der Bundesvision Song Contest fand dort statt! Danke Stefan.

Während der Cologne Pride gab es eine Veranstaltung mit dem Namen „Colour Cologne“. Über die Topmodell Finals und die diversen E-Sports und Video Events haben wir schon berichtet.

Die alte Kölner Sporthalle

Bevor die LanxessArena an den Start ging, gab es in der Domstadt die „Kölner Sporthalle“ als deutlich kleineren und mit den Jahren immer baufälligeren Veranstaltungsort. Am 30.08.1998 gab es dort eine große Abschiedsveranstaltung und sogleich ging es dann in die neue, moderne „KölnArena“.

Die ersten Planungen für die neue Sportarena in Köln gehen sogar bis in das Jahr 1988 zurück. Damals lieferten sich die großen Baukonzerne Strabag und Philipp Holzmann einen kleinen Wettkampf, wer denn nun den Zuschlag bekommen sollte. Gewonnen hat dann schließlich die Strabag, die mit Ihrem Konzept „Europalast“ im August 1989 den Rat der Stadt Köln und den damaligen Oberstadtdirektor Kurt Rossa für sich gewinnen konnten. Für den Bau wählte man sogleich eine 72.500 Quadratmeter große Fläche neben der Koelnmesse in Deutz aus. Sogleich startete eine wahre Finanzierungsarie, in der einige Banker und Bauunternehmer zu fragwürdigem Ruhm gelangt sind bzw. die Verhandlungen diverse Fragen offen ließen. Es wurden Gespräche in Hotels geführt und Immobilienfonds gegründet um das Bauvorhaben zu ermöglichen. Bankhäuser suchten nach Persönlichkeiten aus der Kölner High Society um die Finanzierung zu stemmen.

Doch dann übernahm Lothar Ruschmeier die Aufgabe von Kurt Rossa und dieser konnte dann die SPD Fraktion davon überzeugen, nicht den Europalast zu bauen, sondern das deutlich kleinere Projekt von Philipp Holzmann.

Weiterer Skandal

Warum verkaufte die Stadt Köln das Baugrundstück für die Arena für schlappe 37 Millionen DM an den ausführenden Objektfonds, obwohl das Grundstück wohl einen Wert von 83 Millionen Mark gehabt haben soll?! Nun, wir sind eben in Köln!

Verkauf

Im Dezember 2015 verkündete man, dass die „Junson Capital Company Limited“ aus Hong Kong den Komplex erworben hat.

Probleme mit der Akustik

Aufgrund der besonderen (um nicht zu sagen außergewöhnlichen) Erscheinung der Arena, gibt es des öfteren Probleme mit der Akustik bei Konzerten. Die bauliche Besonderheit für zu Problemen beim Soundcheck in einer leeren Halle als Kontrast zu der dann eben vollen Halle. Die Tontechniker sind dabei nicht zu beneiden! Denn gibt es hohe Lautstärken und Pegel, dann kommt es regelmäßig zu Soundproblemen. Passiert bei Konzerten von:

  • Prince
  • Paul Mc Cartney
  • Beyonce

Anbindung an den Verkehr

Die Verkehrsanbindung kann man mal mit Perfekt bezeichnen. Der Deutzer Bahnhof ist nur einen Steinwurf entfernt und ebenso befinden sich die Öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel direkt vor dem Ausgang. Ca. 400 entfernt findet sich auch schon die A559! Direkt an der Arena findet sich ein Parkhaus mit 1750 Stellplätzen, ein weiteres mit 630 und weitere 300 Parkplätze findet man an der Arena 2. Sie merken aber direkt, dass die Plätze bei einem Besucheraufkommen von mehreren zehntausend Menschen nicht ausreichen können. Deshalb empfehlen wir dringend die Anreise mit der Bahn oder den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.

Wohnen ganz nah an der LanxessArena?!

Sie wollen zu Fuß zur Arena? Dann buchen Sie eine Unterkunft bei der Ferienwohnung Köln, dann können Sie die LanxessArena bequem zu Fuß erreichen! Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

Ferienwohnung Köln

Fewo in cologne

Unterkunft Köln

Auch interessant: die Didacta.

Bewertung: 
Durchschnitt: 5 (1 vote)