Report about the Museum Ludwig in Cologne (Germany)

Read so far
3 min to read

The Museum Ludwig houses many important exhibits of 20th century art and contemporary art. The main attraction is the third largest Picasso collection in the world. The house is located in Cologne south of the main railway station between Rhine, Rheingarten and the Cologne Cathedral on the Heinrich-Böll-Platz. Below the square is the concert hall of the Kölner Philharmonie.

Museum Ludwig

Museum History

The museum goes back to two generous and art historically significant donations. In 1946 the lawyer, Josef Haubrich, from Cologne, bequeathed to the city a collection of works by German expressionists and representatives of classical modernism. He has saved the art described as "degenerate" before the national socialists. His collection was first included in the existing Wallraf-Richartz Museum.


In 1976, the city of Cologne was given another gift: the industrial and art collector Peter Ludwig, together with his wife Irene Ludwig, handed over a collection of 350 contemporary works. These included masterpieces of American pop art. In the gift agreement, it was agreed that the city would have to erect its own "Museum Ludwig" .

The city decided to build a new building in which the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum, which had meanwhile become too small, was to be placed next to Haubrich's collection. The architects Peter Busman & Godfrid Haberer were commissioned with the design. The construction began in 1977, and the opening ceremony took place in September 1986. Since the museum Ludwig grew by further donations and purchases, the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum 2001 from Platzgründen is moved into a newly erected building between the Cologne city hall and the festival hall Gürzenich. From this point onwards, the 8,000 square meters of exhibition space belonged to the Museum Ludwig alone.



The Collections

For chronological reasons, the permanent exhibition of the Haubrich Collection is the first. Here, works by representatives of German expressionism can be admired. These include, in particular, watercolors and paintings by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Emil Nolde, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Erich Heckel, August Macke, Karl Hofer and Heinrich Hoerle.

The largest pop art collection outside the US

The Ludwig couple has already been enthusiastic about American pop art at a time when it was still little known in Germany. This fact is due to the fact that works by artists such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Claes Oldenburg, Jasper Johns, Robert Rauschenberg, James Rosenquist and Tom Wesselmann can be exhibited today. It is the largest pop art collection outside the US.

The Picasso Collection

Absolute highlight, however, is the Picasso Collection of Ludwigs. In 1994, they donated the work of the artist to the city 90 and 2001 to the reopening after the departure of the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum. The peculiarity of the collection is not only in its scope, but also in the fact that works from the various creative phases from Picasso's beginnings to the 1970s were brought together here. Printed graphics can be found as well as sculptures, ceramics and paintings. Peter and Irene Ludwig also invested in Russian art, especially in the Russian avant-garde from the time between 1905 and 1935. Over 600 works by Russian artists can be seen.

More special works

The other treasures include works by Max Beckmann, which are mostly from the possession of his friend and sponsor Lilly von Schnitzler. Lilly von Schnitzler sold the paintings to the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in 1957. They were later taken over by the Ludwig Museum. In 1958 the Willy Strecker Collection (works by Picasso, Paul Klee, Oskar Kokoschka, Henri Matisse etc.) was acquired. Between 1976 and 1988, parts of the collection of Günther and Carola Peill (works by Max Ernst, Willi Baumeister, Alexei of Jawlensky, etc.) were added.

The Photography Collection

An important part of the museum is also the "collection photography", which is based on the private ownership of the native Cologne Leo Fritz Gruber. He has organized photokina for many years and collected significant originals (e.g., from Man Ray). Some works were bought by the museum, others were given to the museum of Gruber and his wife. The collection also includes the "Agfa Foto-Historama", which documents the history of photography. The collections of Robert Lebeck and Daniela Mrazkova were purchased and integrated.

The museum stock is continually expanded by donations and new acquisitions. The focus is on contemporary art. The museum is supported by art patrons, sponsoring associations and foundations.

Special Exhibitions and Events

In addition to the permanent exhibitions, regular special exhibitions can be visited that are dedicated to individual themes and artists. Between 2012 and 2016, special exhibitions were held, among others, on Claes Oldenburg, David Hockney, Saul Steinberg, Andrea Fraser, Joe Baer, Oscar Tuacon, Joan Mitchell and Fernand Léger.

Apart from special tours as well as guided tours and workshops for school classes, various events are regularly organized. Worth mentioning here is the lecture series "KunstBewusst", in the context of which artists and critics will also be invited. Thomas Meinecke, Diedrich Diederichsen, Douglas Crimp, Katharina Sieverding and David Hockney were already guests. In "Art in Context", artists and art experts report on current topics.

Opening times and address

Every first Thursday of the month, the museum is open until 10 pm and concerts, performances, readings etc. are offered. For art-loving gourmets, the "Cultural Trio" is conceived: besides a museum tour, it includes a dinner in the restaurant of the museum and finally a visit to a concert at the Kölner Philharmonie. Anyone who wants to work as an artist and test his talent will be given the opportunity to do so in the "Ateliers für Erwachsene".

Address: Heinrich-Böll-Platz, 50667 Cologne
Opening times:
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Wednesday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Thursday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Friday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Saturday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Sunday: 10: 00-18: 00 hrs.
Phone: 0221 22126165 Clock
Internet: www.museum-ludwig.de

Bewertung: 
No votes yet

Bericht über das Museum Ludwig in Köln (Deutschland)

Read so far
3 min to read

Das Museum Ludwig beherbergt viele wichtige Exponate der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Gegenwartskunst. Hauptattraktion ist die drittgrößte Picasso-Sammlung weltweit. Das Haus befindet sich in Köln südlich des Hauptbahnhofs zwischen Rhein, Rheingarten und dem Kölner Dom auf dem Heinrich-Böll-Platz. Unterhalb des Platzes liegt der Konzertsaal der Kölner Philharmonie.

Museum Ludwig

Museums Geschichte

Das Museum geht auf zwei großzügige und kunstgeschichtlich bedeutende Schenkungen zurück. 1946 vermachte der aus Köln stammende Rechtsanwalt Josef Haubrich der Stadt eine Sammlung mit Werken deutscher Expressionisten und von Vertretern der klassischen Moderne. Er hat die als „entartet“ bezeichnete Kunst vor den Nationalsozialisten gerettet. Seine Sammlung wurde zunächst in das bereits bestehende Wallraf-Richartz-Museum aufgenommen.


1976 wurde der Stadt Köln ein weiteres Geschenk gemacht: Der Industrielle und Kunstsammler Peter Ludwig übergab gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Irene Ludwig eine Sammlung mit 350 zeitgenössischen Werken. Darunter befanden sich auch Meisterstücke der amerikanischen Pop-Art Kunst. Im Schenkungsvertrag wurde vereinbart, dass die Stadt als Gegenleistung ein eigenes „Museum Ludwig“ zu errichten hat.

Die Stadt entschloss sich zu einem Neubau, in dem neben der Sammlung von Haubrich auch das mittlerweile zu klein gewordene Wallraf-Richartz-Museum untergebracht werden sollte. Die Architekten Peter Busman & Godfrid Haberer wurden mit dem Entwurf beauftragt. 1977 begann der Bau, im September 1986 erfolgte die feierliche Eröffnung. Da das Museum Ludwig durch weitere Schenkungen und Ankäufe anwuchs, ist das Wallraff-Richartz-Museum 2001 aus Platzgründen in ein neu errichtetes Gebäude zwischen dem Kölner Rathaus und dem Festsaal Gürzenich übersiedelt. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an gehörten die 8000 Quadratmeter Ausstellungsfläche allein dem Museum Ludwig.



Die Sammlungen

Aus chronologischen Gründen zuerst zu nennen ist die Dauerausstellung der Sammlung Haubrich. Hier sind Werke von Vertretern des deutschen Expressionismus zu bewundern. Dazu zählen vor allem Aquarelle und Gemälde von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Emil Nolde, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Erich Heckel, August Macke, Karl Hofer und Heinrich Hoerle.

Die größte Pop-Art Sammlung außerhalb der USA

Das Ehepaar Ludwig hat sich bereits zu einer Zeit für die amerikanische Pop-Art Kunst begeistert, als diese in Deutschland noch wenig bekannt war. Diesem Umstand ist es zu verdanken, dass heute Werke von Künstlern wie Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Claes Oldenburg, Jasper Johns, Robert Rauschenberg, James Rosenquist und Tom Wesselmann ausgestellt werden können. Es handelt sich um die größte Pop-Art Sammlung außerhalb der USA.

Die Picasso-Sammlung

Absoluter Höhepunkt ist jedoch die Picasso-Sammlung der Ludwigs. 1994 schenkten sie der Stadt 90 und 2001 zur Wiedereröffnung nach dem Auszug des Wallraf-Richartz-Museums 774 Arbeiten des Künstlers. Die Besonderheit der Sammlung besteht nicht nur in ihrem Umfang, sondern auch darin, dass hier Werke aus den verschiedensten Schaffensphasen von Picassos Anfängen bis in die 1970er zusammengetragen wurden. Druckgraphiken finden sich ebenso wie Skulpturen, Keramiken und Gemälde. Peter und Irene Ludwig investierten auch in die Russische Kunst, speziell in die Russische Avantgarde aus der Zeit zwischen 1905 und 1935. Über 600 Werke russischer Künstler sind zu sehen.

Weitere besondere Werke

Zu den weiteren Kostbarkeiten zählen Werke von Max Beckmann, die überwiegend aus dem Besitz von dessen Freundin und Förderin Lilly von Schnitzler stammen. Lilly von Schnitzler hat die Gemälde 1957 an das Wallraff-Richartz-Museum verkauft. Später wurden sie vom Museum Ludwig übernommen. 1958 wurde die Willy-Strecker-Sammlung (Arbeiten von Picasso, Paul Klee, Oskar Kokoschka, Henri Matisse etc.) erworben. Zwischen 1976 und 1988 kamen Teile der Sammlung von Günther und Carola Peill (Werke von Max Ernst, Willi Baumeister, Alexej von Jawlensky u.a.) hinzu.

Die Sammlung Fotografie

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Museums ist auch die „Sammlung Fotografie“, deren Grundlage aus dem Privatbesitz des gebürtigen Kölners Leo Fritz Gruber stammt. Er hat viele Jahre die photokina organisiert und bedeutende Originale (z.B. von Man Ray) gesammelt. Einige Werke wurden vom Museum angekauft, weitere wurden dem Museum von Gruber und dessen Frau geschenkt. Zur Sammlung gehört auch das „Agfa Foto-Historama“, das die Geschichte der Fotografie dokumentiert. Angekauft und eingegliedert wurden zudem die Sammlungen von Robert Lebeck und Daniela Mrazkova.

Der Museumsbestand wird durch Schenkungen und Neuerwerbungen kontinuierlich erweitert. Im Zentrum steht die zeitgenössische Kunst. Das Museum wird dabei von Kunstmäzenen, Fördervereinen und Stiftungen unterstützt.

Sonderausstellungen und Veranstaltungen

Neben den Dauerausstellungen können regelmäßig wechselnde Spezialausstellungen besucht werden, die einzelnen Schwerpunkten und Künstlern gewidmet sind. Zwischen 2012 und 2016 wurden Sonderausstellungen unter anderem über Claes Oldenburg, David Hockney, Saul Steinberg, Andrea Fraser, Joe Baer, Oscar Tuacon, Joan Mitchell und Fernand Léger realisiert.

Abgesehen von Spezialführungen sowie von Führungen und Workshops für Schulklassen werden regelmäßig diverse Veranstaltungen organisiert. Erwähnenswert ist hier die Vortragsserie „KunstBewusst“, in deren Rahmen auch zu Künstler- und Kritikergesprächen eingeladen wird. Thomas Meinecke, Diedrich Diederichsen, Douglas Crimp, Katharina Sieverding und David Hockney waren bereits zu Gast. Bei „Kunst im Kontext“ berichten Künstler und Kunstexperten über aktuelle Themen.

Ferienwohnung-Koeln.com Tipp

Sie suchen noch eine Unterkunft Köln? Die möglichst in der Nähe von diesem schönen Museum liegt? Dann haben Sie die passende Unterkunft schon gefunden: Unsere Apartments in Köln liegen dafür ideal!

Öffnungszeiten und Adresse

Jeden ersten Donnerstag im Monat ist das Museum bis 22 Uhr geöffnet und es werden Konzerte, Performances, Lesungen etc. geboten. Für kunstinteressierte Feinschmecker ist das „Kultur Trio“ gedacht: Neben einer Museumsführung beinhaltet es ein Abendessen im Restaurant des Museums und abschließend den Besuch eines Konzertes in der Kölner Philharmonie. Wer sich selbst als Künstler betätigen und sein Talent erproben will, erhält in den „Ateliers für Erwachsene“ die Gelegenheit dazu.

Adresse: Heinrich-Böll-Platz, 50667 Köln
Öffnungszeiten:
Montag: Geschlossen
Dienstag: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Mittwoch: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Donnerstag: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Freitag: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Samstag: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Sonntag: 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Telefon: 0221 22126165 Uhr
Internet: www.museum-ludwig.de